My local shop, Mae sot

The shopkeeper is hidden behind the fridge. Each time I have been there I have startled him. Last night he was watching bullfighting on tv. This time he was watching sport again but swinging dumbbells doing arm curls. We have a quick lesson in Thai and English numbers. Further down my road I get excited as a spot a restaurant labelled vegetarian. That’s a priority port of call tomorrow for sure. On the same road are some fancy looking resorts, an Italian pizza restaurant, and of all things a golf driving range, floodlit. Kind of puts what I’ve seen today into some harsh perspective.

 

Leave a Reply

