You are the ocean

I stand at the shore daring the tide

To come in and wash round my ankles

To draw me, suck back and leave me invigorated

Almost pulling me over

My footprints

Are obliterated by the surge of the water

It’s as if I wasn’t there

There is no trace

Only in my mind

Each flow is unique

Like the phrasing and sound of your voice

Each ebb is a flurry swirling around me

Scarring my body with memories

Of the moments of when you touched me

Only fleetingly

I stare back at your horizon

Yearning for more

For each time to be better

And stronger

And fresher

And lasting

It never is

Sometimes I watch your thrashing white surf

Glistening under the moonlight

And will it towards me

Too often it stops short

and retreats

Leaving me cheated

Then you tempt me

My god how you tempt me

What bubbles underneath?

What shores and what places have you touched and been sullied by?

Eternal or passing?

Am I the first time?

I’m scared

I would love to walk out

Away from the dry land

To be flattened by your relentless advance

And drawn under

Taken with you

Taken further away

Embraced and then smothered by your recoil

Sucked down

Enveloped

Consumed

I become one with you

I’m scared by your power

I’m scared by my weakness

I step away

I feel your spray splash on my legs and dampen my shorts

I step away

Dry land is familiar, boring, but safe

Safety is oh so boring

And it controls me

I want you to pull me in

Suck me down

And absorb me

For the first time in my life I am sure

Leave a Reply

